Welcome to Official Website of Central Reserve Police Force

About Sector

The North-West sector is located in Chandigarh and its operational area covers the states of Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Union Territory of Chandigarh and Haryana (except Distt- Gurugram & Faridabad). The Sector has 01 Range, 02 Group Centers and 10 Adm Units.

  • North-Western Sector Central Reserve Police Force came into existence on 23rd July 1986 as operational Sector.
  • The first Inspector General of Police of this Sector was Shri K.P.S Gill, IPS.
  • This Sector was converted as North-Western Zone on 24 July 1990.
  • This Sector is doing Administrative and Operational work since January 22, 2009 under Special Director General, Jammu and Kashmir Zone.
  • Presently, the operational scope of this Sector is Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana (except District Gurugram and Faridabad) and Union Territory of Chandigarh, with 02 Ranges, 03 Group Centers and 15 Units.
  • There are four Units viz. 13, 51, 237 and 245 Bn under the operational control of this Sector in which 06 coys of 237 Bn and Dett/HQr are stationed at Srinagar.
  • Under the Administrative control of this Sector, 06 Units are deployed in Jammu and Kashmir, 02 Units in North-East, 04 Units in LWE, 02 Units in Punjab and 01 Unit in Chandigarh (Union Territory).
  • Apart from this, there are 114 Battalion Rapid Action Force, 220 VIP Security Battalion, F/247 VIP Security Battalion and TOT School, Dharampur under this sector.