Welcome to Official Website of Central Reserve Police Force

Dr. Archana Shivhare

Dr. Archana Shivhare

IG Odisha Sector

IG's Message

Odisha Sector

Before creation of West Bengal Sector, earlier, Eastern Sector was raised on 18/08/1968 at Delhi at Sector-II and was shifted from Delhi to Kolkata, West Bengal during 1970. Shri B. B. Mishra, IGP took over charge as the first IGP of Eastern Sector. After along stay at Regent Park, New Delhi, the Hqrs of IG Eastern Sector and DIG, Kolkata Range moved to Mint complex at Strand Road near Howrah Bridge during June 1973. Eastern Sector Hqrs was further shifted to HC Block, Sector-III, Salt Lake, Kolkata during February 1993. States of Orissa, West Bengal, Sikkim and Tripura earlier constituted the administrative jurisdiction of Eastern Sector. After the creation of IG (OPS) Tripura in August 1997, the static and field formation deployed in Tripura were placed under the operational jurisdiction of IG (OPS) Tripura. Eastern Sector had three Ranges viz Durgapur, Bhubaneswar and Siliguri and three GCs viz GC Durgapur, Bhubaneswar & Siliguri, CWS-III Siliguri, CH Bhubaneswar and 15 Executives Bns i.e. 10, 38, 39, 41, 43, 52, 66, 70, 138, 149, 169, 170, 171, 177 and 178 Bns. Out of above administrative jurisdiction, DIsG Range, GC and Composite Hospital, Bhubaneswar and 39, 43, 52, 66 and 149 Bn s are now transferred out from Eastern Sector and placed under the administrative and fuctional control of the IGP (OPS), CRPF, Odisha vide IGP (Pers) Dte. Genl; CRPF order No-O.IV-22/11-Org dated 04/11/2011. Read More