Welcome to Official Website of Central Reserve Police Force

About Sector

The Eastern Sector was established in Delhi in 1968 and later moved to Kolkata in 1970. Shri B. B. Mishra became the first IGP of the Eastern Sector. The Sector's headquarters had several relocations. Initially, it covered Orissa, West Bengal, Sikkim, and Tripura, but the latter's operations were transferred to IG (OPS) Tripura after its creation in 1997. The Eastern Sector included three Ranges and several units, some of which were transferred to the administrative and functional control of the IGP (OPS), CRPF, Odisha.

A new West Bengal Sector was created in 2012, which led to the reorganization and re-affiliation of units. This shift resulted in the administrative control of various units changing hands between Eastern and West Bengal Sectors. Due to a change in the KLP of the Eastern Sector IGP, West Bengal was given the authority to administer the Ranges, Group Centers, and affiliated units in both Sectors. Consequently, West Bengal assumed operational responsibility for the entire state of West Bengal and Sikkim, along with the operational control over specific units. Presently, West Bengal Sector has administrative control over several units under Range Durgapur, Siliguri, (OPS) Medinipur, and more.

In addition, a new battalion, 232 (Mahila) Bn, was raised at GC-I, CRPF, Ajmer, and its headquarters was moved to Salboni (West Medinipur), falling under Range Durgapur with overall operational and administrative oversight by West Bengal Sector.

The Following IGs Have Hold Charge of West Bengal Sector Since Its Inception: -

Sr. No. Name From To
  Shri Nageswara Rao, IPS 01/07/2010 22/09/2010
  Shri R.K.Saxena 23/09/2010 30/11/2010
  Shri R.B.Rao 01/12/2010 31/07/2011
  Shri Vivek Sahay, IPS 01/08/2011 24/07/2016
  Shri Manoj Kumar Dubey 25/07/2016 25/09/2016
  Shri Randeep Datta, PMG 26/09/2016 09/01/2017
  Md. Jawed Akhtar, IPS 10/01/2017 13/02/2017
  Sh. S. Raveendran, IPS 17/02/2017 03/01/2020
  Sh. Vivek Vaid 04/01/2020 19/05/2020
  Sh. Pradeep Kumar Singh 19/05/2020 03/09/2021
  Sh. Manoj Kumar Dubey 03/09/2021 31.12.2022
  Sh. Bidyut Sengupta 01/01/2022 30/11/2023
  Sh. Birendra Kumar Sharma 16/12/2023 To Till Date

Name of Officers Presently Posted in West Bengal Sector Hqr

Sh. Birendra Kumar Sharma, IGP

Note :- Posted at WBS HQr vide Polcent (Pers) dte signal No-T.IX-2/2022-Pers-DA-1 Dtd-22.12.2022

West Bengal Sector, CRPF, Sector-III,HC Block, Salt Lake, Kolkata-700 106 (WB)



Shri Praveen Kumar Singh, DIGP (Prov/Accts/Adm)


Sh. Birsa Orawn, DIGP. (Ops/Int/Trg)


Sh Manoj Kumar, Comdt. (Prov & Acct)

Sh. Ravi Shankar Kumar, Comdt. (OPS)
Sh. Debasish Biswas, Comdt. (Int)


Sh Dilip Malik, Dy. Comdt (Int)