IGP's Message

Photo Gallery

Video Gallery

Zone North Eastern Sector

About Sector

              North Eastern Sector Headquarter of Central Reserve Police Force is located in Shillong (Meghalaya). This sector was established in 1976 as Sector-4 and in 1987, it was renamed as North Eastern Sector. The sector was initially entrusted with the operational control of all the seven North Eastern States of India, (Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh, Tripura and Mizoram) at the time of establishment. After the establishment of Manipur and Nagaland sector in 1994, the responsibility of the said state was entrusted to Manipur and Nagaland Sector and after the establishment of Tripura Sector in 1997, the responsibility of the state of Tripura and Mizoram was entrusted to Tripura sector accordingly. In 2005, Ops Jorhat sector was established and was entrusted with the responsibility of Arunachal Pradesh and Upper Assam. At present, the North Eastern Sector has been entrusted with the responsibility of the Lower and Central Assam along with the whole State of Meghalaya. Three GCs under this Sector are located in Guwahati, Khatkhati and Silchar. In addition, a 50-bed Composite Hospital is also established in the premises of the GC- Silchar where medical services are being provided to the jawans and their families. A well-equipped training centre (ATC) is also established inside GC- Khatkhati where high level training is imparted to newly recruited constable of various States. Two Operational Ranges under the operational jurisdiction of North Eastern Sector are actively functioning in Guwahati and Bongaigaon. Besides, Arms Workshop-III and Arms Workshop-V are also set up and functional in the campus of GC-Guwahati and GC- Khakhati respectively. 11 operational Battalions including 01 CoBRA Bn (210 Bn) deployed under this area have been achieving various remarkable achievements by displaying high level of professionalism and also building up a brotherhood and friendly relationship  between Police & Public by conducting various civic action programs throughout the year in their respective operational jurisdictions.

Go to Navigation