Ministry of Home Affairs, Gol (Central Reserve Police Force)

New Delhi Dated the 25th January, 2019

2 Kirti Chakras and 1 Shaurya Chakra among 47 Gallantry medals to CRPF brave hearts

In keeping with the highest traditions of ultimate bravery and self sacrifice for the sake of the motherland, this time too the brave hearts of CRPF have been bestowed with as many as 47 gallantry medals. It includes 2 Kirti Chakras, one Sahurya Chakra, 3 President's Police Medal for Gallantry and 41 Police Medals for Gallantry. The Government announcement to this effect made on the eve of the Republic day today is a reiteration of the supreme sacrifice and patriotic fervor of the personnel of the Force, which happens to be the highest decorated Force among all the Central Armed Police Forces in the country.

The two Kirti Chakra awardees namely Saheed Constable Pradip Kumar Panda,132 Bn, Saheed Constable Rajendra Kumar Nain,130 Bn and one Shaurya Chakra awardee Sh. Zile Singh, Assistant Commandant had shown exemplary bravery in the deadly fidayeen attack on the CRPF camp at Lethpora in the Awantipura district of south Kashmir on the 30th December 2017. The over 36 hours long grueling effort of the valiant men of CRPF in neutralising the three militants had also witnessed the martyrdom of five brave hearts including the two Kirti Chakra awardees and injuries to two other gallant men of the Force. These three main architects of the daring operation along with the other brave men of the Force had succeeded not only in eliminating all the three militants who had sneaked into the camp under the cover of darkness but also in saving the precious lives of their fellow mates and the family members of Force personnel living in the residential quarters inside the camp. The nightmarish operation involved careful planning coupled with the steely resolve and dedication of the Force personnel to frustrate the evil design of the three militants.

The gallant men of CRPF had another close brush with the fidayeens on 26th August 2017 when three terrorists barged into the premises of the District Police Line, Pulwama in the wee hours. The treacherous fidayeen attack was effectively foiled by the Force personnel in a more than 20 hours long well planned and deftly executed operation, leading to the elimination of all the three militants. The incident was witness to the raw courage and rare commitment of brave hearts like Saheed constable Mohd. Yaseen Tali of 115 Bn, Saheed constable Borase Dinesh Dipak of 25 Bn and Saheed constable Jaswant Singh of 183 Bn- all of whom chose to put the cause of the motherland over and above their own personal safety and attained martyrdom. Because of their supreme sacrifice these bravehearts of the Force were awarded with the prestigious President's Police Medal for Gallantry posthumously. These three brave men of CRPF are the only ones to be bestowed with the President's Police Medals for Gallantry. As in the Lethpora fidayeen attack of December 2017, this incident also was quite challenging in the sense that the brave personnel of the Force had to save the lives of their fellow mates and family members residing inside the camp, while ensuring the neutralization of all the three militants.

Out of 146 personnel selected for Police medals for Gallantry, CRPF tops the list with as many as 41 brave hearts receiving the prestigious recognition.

PR Dte Dt 25.01.2019



SH. ZILE SINGH AC (SHAURYA CHAKRA)



SHAHEED CONSTABLE P K PANDA (KIRTI CHAKRA)



SHAHEED CONSTABLE R K NAIN (KIRTI CHAKRA)



SHAHEED CONSTABLE B D DIPAK (PPMG)



SHAHEED CONSTABLE JASWANT SINGH (PPMG)



SHAHEED CONSTABLE MD YASEEN TALI (PPMG)