Ministry of Home Affairs, GOI Central Reserve Police Force

New Delhi Dated the 14th March, 2019

President honours CRPF brave-hearts

President Sh. Ram Nath Kovind today honoured five bravehearts of CRPF with the prestigious Kirti Chakra and Shaurya Chakra gallantry medals. In a solemn investiture function at the Rastrapati Bhawan, the President of India presented these gallantry decorations to three bravehearts in person and to the Next of Kin of two other bravehearts posthumously. Sh. Rajeev Rai Bhatnagar, D.G, CRPF was present on the occasion alongwith other dignitaries.

While Smt Priyanka Devi, wife of Shaheed Constable Rajendra Kumar Nain received the Kirti Chakra-the second highest peacetime gallantry award, Smt. Vaishali R. Dhanawade, wife of Shaheed Head Constable Dhanawade Ravindra Baban received the Shaurya Chakra gallantry medal- the third highest peacetime gallantry award of the country. Head Constable A S Krishna, Constable Prafulla Kumar and Constable Dinesh Raja were also decorated with Shaurya Chakra gallantry medals.

Shaheed Constable Rajendra Kumar Nain of 130 Bn is one of the two Kirti Chakra awardees out of 47 gallantry medal winners of CRPF announced on the occasion of the 70th Republic Day. Similarly, the four Shaurya Chakra awardees are among the 96 gallantry medal winners of the Force, declared on the eve of the 72nd Independence Day.

Kirti Chakra awardee Shaheed Constable Rajendra Kumar Nain, alongwith two other CRPF bravehearts had shown exemplary bravery in the deadly fidayeen attack on the CRPF camp at Lethpora in the Awantipura district of south Kashmir on the 30th December 2017. Together they had been successful in neutralizing all the three terrorists in a well planned operation that had lasted for over 36 hours. In the operation, he fought bravely and laid down his life for the cause of the Nation.

Shaurya Chakra awardees Head Constable A S Krishna, Constable Prafulla Kumar and Constable Dinesh Raja- all belonging to 45 Bn together had shown remarkable agility and bravery in a sudden fidayeen attack that took place in the early hours of 5th June 2017 in the Industrial Area of Sumbal in the Bandipora district of J & K. These three bravehearts alongwith their buddies had successfully eliminated all the four heavily armed terrorists in a fierce operation that had lasted for just 45 minutes.

The other Shaurya Chakra awardee Shaheed Head Constable Dhanawade Ravindra Baban of the 182 Bn, alongwith one of his mates was instrumental not only in frustrating a similar fidayeen bid in the District Police Line in the Pulwama district of Jammu and Kashmir on 26th August last year but also in eliminating all the three terrorists who had planned the fidayeen attack. One could well imagine the level of resolve and retaliatory spirit of the Jawans of the Force who could achieve the rare feat in 'room intervention' excercise in an ordeal that lasted for over 20 hours! Head Constable Ravindra Baban had made supreme sacrifice for the country in the treacherous gun-fire.

Three other CRPF bravehearts namely Constable Shaheed Pradip Kumar Panda, 132 Bn (Kirti Chakra awardee), Shri Kuldeep Singh Chahar, Deputy Commandant and Shri Zile Singh, Asst Commandant (Both Shaurya Chakra awardees) will be honoured on coming Tuesday- the 19th of March.

PR Dte Dt.14.03.2019



SHAHEED. CT/GD P.K. PANDA 132BN KIRTI CHAKRA



CT/GD PRAFULLA KUMAR 45BN SHAURYA CHAKRA



SH.DC KULDEEP SINGH CHAHAR 182BN SHAURYA CHAKRA



SH. AC.ZILE SINGH ,180BN SHAURYA CHAKRA



SHAHEED.HC/GD D.RAVINDRA BABAN 182BN SHAURYA CHAKRA



HC/GD K.DINESH RAJA 45BN SHAURYA CHAKRA



SHAHEED CT/GD R.K. NAIN 130 BN KIRTI CHAKRA





