North Eastern Sector North Eastern Sector

About Sector

North Eastern Sector, CRPF has its Headquarter at Shillong, Meghalaya. Shri Prakash D, IPS is holding the charge of IG, North Eastern Sector, CRPF.

North Eastern Sector was raised on 01/02/1976 at Shillong, Meghalaya with ops control over all the seven States of North East i.e. Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh, Tripura and Mizoram.

Manipur and Nagaland Sector with AOR of Manipur and Nagaland states was raised in 1994. Tripura Sector with AOR of Tripura and Mizoram states was raised in 1997. Jorhat Ops Sector with AOR of Arunachal Pradesh and 12 districts of Upper Assam was raised in 2005. Presently the Area of Responsibility of North Eastern Sector includes 12 districts of Lower and Central Assam and State of Meghalaya.

10 Bns of CRPF and 210 Cobra Bn. are deployed under Ops control of IGP NES. IG NE Sector exercises administrative control over 3 Ranges of CRPF i.e. Range Guwahati, Khatkhati and Silchar, 3 Group Centres at Guwahati, Khatkhati and Silchar, CH Silchar, 15 Bns, AWS-III Guwahati and AWS-V, Khatkhati.  

Go to Navigation